Skip to content

SCI:COM 2021

Calendar icon to

Proudly supported by


Jonathan McCrea

Broadcaster and Founder, SCI:COM and Whipsmart Media

Ana Payo Payo

Research Fellow at University of Aberdeen

Shane Bergin

Physicist & Assistant Prof in science education @ucddublin .

Maria Baghramian

Professor of American Philosophy, School of Philosophy, University College Dublin

Ruth Freeman

Director of Science for Society, Science Foundation Ireland

Jessamyn Fairfield

Physicist, director and MC of Bright Club Ireland

Joseph Roche

Astrophysicist, Assistant Professor in Science Education, TCD

Brian Trench

President, PCSTNetwork. Science Communication at DCU

Steve Cross

Public engagement strategist, public event director, communications consultant

Merryn Mckinnon

Centre for the Public Awareness of Science, Australian National University

Kyle Marian Viterbo

Science Communicator and Engagement Producer at Science Friday

Mark Little

CEO Kinzen, formerly Storyful

Luke Drury

Emeritus Professor of Astrophysics at DIAS. Member and former president Royal Irish Academy.

Sarah Davies

Department of Science and Technology Studies, University of Vienna

Alessandra Fornetti

Executive Director, TEN Program on Sustainability, Venice International University

Greg Foot

Science Broadcaster on BBC TV & Radio, YouTuber, Podcaster

Maddie Moate

BAFTA winning TV Presenter & EduTuber

Eric Jensen

Senior Research Fellow, International Consortium of Research Staff Associations (ICoRSA)

Alexander Gerber

Scientific Entrepreneur, Research Director of INSCICO

Sanna Reponen

Elements of AI Project Co-ordinator

Pete Lunn

Head of Behavioural Research Unit, ESRI

Aimee Stapleton

Education and Public Engagement Manger at APC Microbiome Ireland at University College Cork

Ty Branch

Philosopher of Science, Institut Jean Nicod

Barbara Gormley

PhD researcher, Tutor in the School of Communications at DCU

Colm O'Regan

Comedian, Podcaster

Sarah Hayes

Associate Director Academic partnerships & Public Engagement at SSPC

Aarti Kapoor

Sci-comm Researcher, Australian National University

Tara Roberson

ARC Centre of Excellence for Engineered Quantum Systems, University of Queensland

Lindsay Keith

Research Fellow, University of Greenwich

Robert O'Malley

Project Director at AAAS-DoSER

John Slattery

Science for Seminaries, AAAS

Hessam Habibi

Researcher & Science Communicator

Maria Elena Villar

Co Director at FIU Steven Cruz Institute for Science, Media + Technology (SCI)

Clare Wilkinson

Associate Professor In Science Communication at University of the West of England

Silvija Markic

Pädagogische Hochschule Ludwigsburg

Felix Ho

Associate Professor Uppsala University

Hamid Khan

Senior Partnerships coordinator

Tom Vanderbilt

Author, Science Writer

Vincent Wade

CEO at ADAPT SFI Research Centre for AI Driven Digital Content Technology

Jeanet Bruil

Head Dutch Research Agenda (NWA)

Claire O'Connell


Margie McCarthy

Head of Education and Public Engagement

Christopher Jackson

Professor, Manchester University

Steve Pritchard

Strategic Communications Manager (Vaccines) Oxford University

Martin McHugh

Public Engagement Officer with SSPC

Daniel Kaiser

Scientific Policy Officer in ALLEA

Cara Augustenborg

Irish-American environmental scientist, climate change lecturer, writer and activist

Steve Pritchard

Strategic Communications Manager (Vaccines) Oxford University

Phil Smyth

Scientist, Engineer, Presenter, Messer. Simply Science, UCD Discovery

The event is over

Hosted by


iCRAG is the SFI Research Centre in Applied Geosciences hosted by University College Dublin. We are a team of researchers creating solutions for a sustainable society.

Share on


Science Foundation Ireland

For What's Next


The world’s leading science communication competition

UWE Bristol

MSc Science Communication, UWE Bristol


Improving people's health through innovative medicines


iCRAG Education and Public Engagement

I, Science

from Imperial College London