Skip to content

Diversity Affects | Troubling Institutions - Annual Conference 2021

Calendar icon to

Proudly supported by


Sara Ahmed

Independent feminist scholar and writer

Yvonne Albrecht

postdoctoral researcher

Carole Ammann

postdoctoral mobility fellowship

Bilgin Ayata

Professor for Southeastern European Studies

Samie Blasingame

researcher, facilitator and activist focused on sustainable food systems and environmental justice

Michael Boiger

assistant professor of cultural psychology

Alexandra Borchardt

senior journalist and book author, journalism professor, and media consultant

Birgit Bosold

member of the board of the Schwules Museum

Marian Burchardt

Professor of Sociology

Gülay Çağlar

Professor for Political Science

Rhea Ramjohn

Trinbagonian writer, producer, and presenter representing ancestral codes via vernacular poetics

Jennifer Chan de Avila

postdoctoral researcher

Birte de Gruisbourne

research assistant

Hansjörg Dilger

Professor of Social and Cultural Anthropology

Sanni Est

singer, curator and community organizer

Angela Failler

Canada Research Chair in Culture and Public Memory, and Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies

Anne Fleig

Professorin für Deutsche Philologie

Kenny Fries


Juliane Gorke

research associate

Mar Griera

Associate Professor

Serhat Karakayali

head of the department for Migration Research at DeZIM-Institute

Omar Kasmani

post-doctoral research associate

Annemarie Kern

student of social science

Neetu Khanna

associate professor

Nour Khelifi

journalist, scriptwriter, speaker, and online content creator

Iva Krtalić

journalist and Head of Intercultural Diversity at Westdeutscher Rundfunk (WDR)

Caroline Light

Studies of Women, Gender, and Sexuality

Margreth Lünenborg

Professor of Journalism

Dominik Mattes

postdoctoral Research Associate

Débora Medeiros

postdoc researcher

Heather Milne

Associate Professor

Sheila Mysorekar

former chairperson of the independent media organization 'Neue deutsche Medienmacher'

Boris Nieswand

doctor in ethnology

Heike Pantelmann

Managing Director of the Margherita von Brentano Center for Gender Studies

Sabina García Peter

doctor in sociology

Annelot Prins

American Cultural studies

Vanessa Rau

post-doctoral research fellow

Birgitt Röttger-Rössler

professor of social and cultural anthropology

Hans Roth

doctoral researcher

Monika Salzbrunn

Professor of Religions, Migration, Diasporas

Sascha Salzmann

novelist, playwright, essayist, and curator

Monique Scheer

professor of historical and cultural anthropology

Thomas Stodulka

Junior Professor for Psychological Anthropology

Susan Thieme

professor for geography and critical sustainability studies

Larissa Vetters

senior research fellow

Anita von Poser

Professor of Psychological Anthropology

Jeremy Wade

performance maker

Tanja Wälty

research associate

Matthias Warstat

Professor of Theatre Studies

Andrea Wright


Olaf Zenker

professor and chair of sociocultural anthropology

The event is over

Hosted by


Affect and emotion constitute fundamental aspects of social relations that are essential to whether societies are able to hold together or fall apart. Our goal is to establish a new understanding of societies as affective societies, in which the fundamental meaning of emotionality and affectivity for communal life is taken into account, along with the manifold challenges of the mobile, interconnected and mediatized environments of the twenty-first century.